On ESXi I am not able to utilize whole LUN space from DataStore

Posted on January 8, 2013

0


Environment

SAN = Virtual iSCSI SAN (tgt)

OS = Windows Platform

Problem

I created a 500GB LUN on my Virtual iSCSI SAN. Add this Storage on ESXi Server. Created a DataStore. Tried to add that Storage Space in Virtual Machine. But I was only able to create a 256GB Hard Disk.

Workaround which worked for me

I created two 200GB and one 100GB LUN on my Virtual iSCSI SAN. Add these three(200+200+100 GB) Storage on ESXi Server. Created three DataStores on ESXi Server. Create three Hard Disks in Virtual Machine under ESXi Server. Under OS I am able to see these three disks.

Now I created a single DIskGroup under OS with the help of these three disks. Here I am able to make a 500GB Volume 🙂

Posted in: Tech News