Physical drive’s Disk Group is not being import after restart (in windows 2003)

Posted on July 14, 2011

0


Today i would like to share my one experience why my Disk Group in which physically connected drive was not able to import after restart. i have also written a blog in which i was share that my ISCSI SAN drive was not able to import auto after restart. if you want to read that blog see the below link
https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/blogs/disk-group-not-importing-automatically-after-restart-windows2003 )

Problem
when I restart the PC the physically connected drive’s Disk Group is not being able to import automatically. I had to import it after restart the PC.

Environment
i have windows 2003 server R2 with SF 5.0 installed. Two drives attached with the windows 2003 server PC. One is the boot disk drive and the second is add in the disk group named DiskGroup123.

Experience
when i restart my windows 2003 PC my disk group name DiskGroup123 is not able to import automatically.

Solution1
i just converted the drive from MBR to GPT and now able to successfully import the Disk group after restart the windows 2003 PC. See in the below snaps how to convert the drive from MBR to GPTimagebrowser image

Step-1imagebrowser image

Step-2imagebrowser image

Step-3

Solution2
I just installed Microsoft iscsi initiator version 2.08 and able to view the service ( Veritas DG Delayed Import Service ) and ran the command vxdg -g DGname latestart on and finally able to import the Disk Group automatically after restart.

Posted in: SFHA / VCS